Concluding column

By DAVID JARKA

Columns are great avenues for newspaper editors and reporters to express their opinions, provide insight to certain topics or provide a voice for voiceless ones in the community they serve in. More or less, columns writers have the freedom to write about whatever he or she may want.

But that freedom for me, for whatever reason, caused me to have a case of writer’s block on Thursday, when my final column at The Spectrum was due.

My last column had to do with Christmas.

 

I considered doing a “goodbye” column saying farewell to UB or an inspirational column of what I learned during my college experience. But, I decided against both. I already did a “goodbye” column, sort of, and also felt they were too cliche and over done. I wanted to do something new and different.

That led me to think about current events. I didn’t feel too passionate about anything in the news on the world, national or local scale. Nothing tickled my fancy so I moved on.

I then began thinking about the time of year. It’s December and therefore Christmastime. I wondered if I could write something along the lines of the Holiday season. On top of it, how many people can say they left a publication on a festive note?

I began to think about what Christmas has meant to me throughout the years, wondering if there was any lesson I learned or interesting antidote I could write about in my column slot.

Eventually, I figured it out, and left my final mark with The Spectrum.

One response to “Concluding column

  1. Content: 3 THis was sort of cheating — using two blogs as one, David. It’s great for you to walk us through the process, but I would have liked to see a little more content.
    Links:3
    Grammar: 3

Leave a Reply

