Moving forward

By Chris

Looking to diversify myself in different forms of media, I started my internship at WECK 1230AM the day before Thanksgiving.

I’m still getting my feet wet. So far I’ve been recording host Brad Riter’s show for the station archives, been helping in posting audio links to his Web site and putting together news clips for the 5:30 p.m. newscast.

Journalism may not be in my future career plans (I woke up early on Saturday to take the dreaded LSAT) but it doesn’t mean I want to throw away everything I’ve learned.

I spent two-and-a-half years at the Spectrum and those were both the best and worst years of my life (anyone who’s sat in that spacious coffin of an office past 2 a.m. editing knows exactly what I mean by that). The experience was invaluable and I had a lot of fun doing it.

After taking this class, I feel that I’m a stronger writer now than I was in August. I’m a bit more conscious of my syntax and I’ve been able to keep things short(er). It was worth all the work involved (more work than I’ve had to do in most 300-level classes).

The desire to improve my writing skills was one of the main reasons why I started blogging in the first place. And I don’t see that passion dying anytime soon.

One response to “Moving forward

  1. Chris, Great news about the internship. Maybe journalism won’t lose you after all.

    I know the class involved a lot of work. But that’s the way to improve. Great that you feel you did. Keep writing. Keep thinking. Come to me anytime with questions.
    Content: 4
    Links: 3
    Grammar: 3

Leave a Reply

