Blogging 101

By Keeley Sheehan

I’d blogged a little before this class, but I started blogging when I was about 14, so for me, blogging was synonymous with keeping a diary. The only difference was I used a keyboard instead of a pen and someone other than myself could read it (though I still went to great pains to make sure my little sister never stumbled across it).

I'm just glad I don't have to use one of these...

So the idea of blogging about a legitimate topic or having a theme was a little confusing.

But I think I’ve learned a fair amount about blogging during the last 15 weeks or so of being more or less forced to write about journalism every week.

I started my own snazzy new blog a few days ago. I gave it a moderately pretentious name. I even bought a domain name.

My basic goal with this blog is to build on what I’ve learned in this class and keep paying attention to what’s going on in the journalism field and media coverage. I don’t quite understand all the ins and outs of blogging — the concept of keywords still kind of confuses me.

Before we started the class blog, I thought the hardest part would be simply coming up with ideas, and while I admit I’ve stared blankly at WordPress on more than one Monday night, once I made my own blog and had a clearer focus, it’s been surprisingly easy to come up with ideas. The media and the people who talk about media provide endless fodder for debate and conversation. I’m sure I’ll run into writer’s block plenty of times, and I have yet to do much in the way of developing my own content (one step at a time…), but so far, so good.

Honestly the hardest part has been getting used to the way WordPress formatting works and trying to make my résumé look readable.

We’re all pretty much up to our necks in papers and finals right now, but I’m excited to have some time over break to experiment with my new little corner of the Web.

One response to “Blogging 101

  1. Glad the class helped you, Keeley. Can’t wait to read your blog. Feel free to stop by if you have questions about writing, editing or stories you are working on. You didn’t talk much in class, but I enjoyed having you.

    Content:4
    Links:3
    Grammar:3

Leave a Reply

