Applying what you learn: A novel idea

By Chris Ryndak

It’s really cool when things you learn in class happen to pop up randomly in everyday life.

Following our discussion on sound Thursday afternoon on how to write a report for the radio, I found myself sitting in my night class…listening to a story from NPR.

My instructor wanted us to write down anything we heard in the broadcast that pertained to our class (Law and the Environment). I didn’t realize i had done it until later on, but in listening to the story, I was also breaking down how the reporter framed it and the language he used.

It made me wonder how often I subconsciously use the little things I’ve learned over the years.

From recognizing good quotes to sticking with the active voice to predicting the best course of legal action for those poor residents, everything came together in a way that doesn’t happen often enough.

Then Sunday morning, I woke up to a story on CBS’ aptly named “Sunday Morning” program about “The Future of Noise.”

While it didn’t directly deal with communications and media, it did show a lot of the problems that come with recording sound in public spaces. It was another unlikely connection.

But honestly? I probably wouldn’t have watched the entire story if we hadn’t talked about sound in class (and it’s not just because I dislike Mo Rocca).

I’m looking forward to the trip to WBFO tomorrow, if only to compare the attitudes of the people who work there with those of in print media concerning the future of their professions. I’d expect the radioheads to be a bit more upbeat.

That, and I hope the whole thing is a little bit like “NewsRadio.”

One response to “Applying what you learn: A novel idea

  1. Content: 4 Congratulations. You are listening, reading and thinking like a journalist. You will never be the same again.

    You gave us a double whammy here; you found two outside sources to connect to class. The more you do journalism, the more this will happen. Embrace it.

    Hope WBFO lived up to your hopes. Usually news organizations are not as romantic as we imagine them. But when you work there, they are great fun.
    Links: 3
    Grammar: 3

Leave a Reply

