Sleep Deprived

 

tired

By MEGAN

Exhaustion is sweeping over me as the semester is in full swing.  I have tons of work to do and all-nighters seem to be a growing trend.  On top of that I try to keep in touch with friends and family somewhere in between classes and work.

I don’t mean to whine but I just want to get some rest.  Last night I went down for a power nap at  4 a.m.  and when I woke up at 6 a.m. I had one of those dreams where you really believed the event happened; so much so that I had to ask my mom if it were true.  Of course it wasn’t, I am just going crazy.  It would also be nice if I could find time for my well-being and exercise.  But this is just the beginning.

Careers in journalism require very demanding hours.  Especially today when news is happening at all hours of the day and being reported minutes later, you have to be on your toes.  Something could happen in the middle of the night and you could receive a call with an assignment to go out and collect the story.

Working more closely on an international level is also a key factor.  Editors in different countries won’t often pay attention to the difference in time.  When they want to talk, they’ll ring you at 2:30 a.m. without thinking twice.

The bottom line is that in order to keep up with the news you will always be on the go.  But at what price?  Everyone needs a break at some point.  I can’t wait for Thanksgiving break when I will finally have some time for me.  I will eat my turkey and trot like one too!

One response to “Sleep Deprived

  1. Content: 2 Managing stress and multiple assignments is integral for a journalist. You never feel an assignment is done, and even when you hand it over to an editor, there are graphics and photos to add. Oh, and then there is the next story waiting. So, yes, it’s a whirlwind. But also an amazing way to make a living learning.

    Your post is fine — it’s always good to connect your own experiences to the topic at hand — but the tie to journalism is a little tenuous. I would have liked to see more questions about what running at such a pace does to the quality of journalism. Are we producing too much mediocre stuff just to meet deadline? How do we avoid it etc.
    Links: 3
    Grammar: 3

Leave a Reply

