Crunch Time

I’ve always been a planner.

So, when I learned of our deadline assignment on Tuesday, I have to admit, I was a little panic stricken. Most college kids seem to think they work best under pressure. In fact, I have been witness to some pretty amazing papers being written at 2am, when the duecrunch time date is a 10am class the same day.

For me, being under pressure to write gives me the jitters. Perhaps it’s my creative writing skills that are coming out, fore I never sit down and write an amazing piece of prose right before it’s due. Instead, I take time to look around at the world for inspiration, let ideas filter through, and then finally write my piece (days before the deadline, mind you).

As I uneasily sat down with my laptop in the lab, I made a promise to myself; don’t stress out! It’s my greatest downfall when it comes to writing, which it probably why I’m night a fan of all-nighter work sessions.

And so, I didn’t stress, and I just wrote. In fact, I thought I wrote pretty well for something I had no time to plan for.

In the end, I was glad to have done something out of my comfort zone. Not only do I feel it was a success but also a great opportunity to improve all areas of my writing. In the real world, I know I’m not always going to be able to plan for things days ahead, so better to learn now in college then when I’m struggling to write-up a memo my boss gave me two hours before he has to present it at a board meeting.

I’ll have it on his desk 15 minutes before.

Leave a Reply

