On the brink

By DAVID JARKA

As I was running down the hall of the third floor of the Student Union Theater on Tuesday, I was thinking, “This is awesome.”

I was tracking down Bryan Ortiz, who had abruptly dropped out of the Student Association Presidential race and endorsed Ernesto Alvarado in front of three SA club councils. I had to get the scoop, then and there, on what his motives were, what led him to concede from the election race. This was breaking news that I had to get immediately. As soon as I got it, I called down to the office right away, and within seconds, word was spread over his dropping out on Facebook. I also had to mention it in the article we were writing for the next day’s issue.

I felt the same sensation on Thursday as I watched outside as two presidential candidates hotly battled in the Student Union for people to vote for them in a special election, as they corralled anyone that would give them a second and lead them over to the voting booths. As soon as those students came out, I was right there asking them about who they voted for and why and could not wait for all this to go into print.

rollercoaster

Sometimes journalism can make you feel like your on a rollercoaster ride.

The electricity went through my veins some more when I waited diligently outside of the SA office to find out who had won this unique election, as me and my fellow editors waited 45 minutes longer than anticipated who the new president was going to be. It continued when we stepped inside the office and saw the candidates each come in as they heard the results at the same time as we did.

This is why I want to be a journalist.

Being the first one to break news on a story and being at the front line of when news happens is such a thrill to me. Knowing that it is my responsibility to accurately find out information and report it to my publication’s audience is one that I feel honored to uphold.

Although my background has mostly been in sports journalism, over the course of the last several years I have grown to truly appreciate the art and science of news reporting in general, regardless of the topic on hand. The electricity that one feels by doing this job makes you feel on discovering new information for your readership is an unparalleled sensation that no other career that I have worked can really duplicate.

However, my only hope is that after I concluded my education after this semester. Sometimes, takes on the future of the field that I love can be a bit disheartening.

One response to “On the brink

  1. Content: Great stuff. I love living other people’s excitement for journalism. You have the bug. It’s hard to shake.
    Links: 3
    Grammar: 2 Tighten, tighten. The beginning of this post is much better than the end. What happened? I can’t even understand the last two lines. WHat are you trying to say? You are worried about making a living as a journalist? Clarify — and fix that mixed-up sentence.

Leave a Reply

