Life can take you anywhere

Starting as a psychology major, Jim Militello found himself becoming an Associated Press sports reporter.  These two jobs have nothing in common although Jim would not have become an AP reporter without first earning his undergraduate degree.hein-van-den-heuvel-forest-path

I listened to Jim discuss how he went to undergraduate school for 10 years, at three universities and in two different countries.  He spent this time earning a degree in psychology even though he knew he did not want to pursue a career in the field.  Instead he used the degree to help him open doors in the broadcasting field.

Listening to Jim made me realize my own circumstances where I spent most of my college career working for a major I do not have an interest in.  I took a better road than Jim and changed my major so that I am now interested in the classes I am enrolled in.  Even with this change, I still felt behind in college.  This was until I listened to Jim and learned that life should be taken at your own pace. His career in broadcasting developed over many years and broadened his life experiences.

I hope to use media studies to broaden how I experience the world and journalism seems to help with this goal.  Since taking Fundamentals of Journalism I have already been introduced to many professionals and taught many skills that can benefit my life and media study career.

After listening to Jim Militello, I plan on taking life at my own pace and keeping an open mind to the different careers that exist.

One response to “Life can take you anywhere

  1. Content: 4 This is great stuff, Greg, and I am glad Jim changed how you think about your life and college education. I’ll be sure to tell him. I’d like to hear more about how this realization happened. Was it immediate? Did you spend time thinking about it after the talk? Tell me more about the choices you made that didn’t work and how you went about changing them. SHOW me how Jim’s talk changed you — explain in detail your thought process. Bring me along and this could be a great post.

    Obviously, the skills you are learning in this class can apply to many fields. We will soon start talking about the media elements of journalism. The profession needs skilled tekkies. So maybe you will find some way to balance all your interests.

    Links: 1 This is a weak link. You could have linked to AP sports or several others. Also, there are many websites/blogs about changing career paths, searching for yourself or reinventing yourself via media you could have linked to.

    Grammar: 3 Good. Watch cliches – open the door, took a better road, take life at own pace.
    Try to use stronger sentence structure and stronger verbs.

    For instance:
    Since taking Fundamentals of Journalism I have already been introduced to many professionals and taught many skills that can benefit my life and media study career.

    This sounds like it comes out of a handbook. You don’t talk like that. Don’t write like it, either.
    Say:
    Taking a journalism class was the best thing I did this semester. I’ve improved…. I can now….My thinking has clarified, I now look at news stories and …

    Also, the tense is odd here:

    I took a better road than Jim and changed my major so that I am now interested in the classes I am enrolled in. Even with this change, I still felt behind in college.

    See how you start in the present and then move to the past. This is confusing for a reader and makes him/her not trust you.

Leave a Reply

