Sunday Mornings

coffeeandpaperWhenever I go home, I always look forward to spending Sunday mornings with my family. We sit in my cozy living room and sip coffee while chatting about virtually anything. My brother eagerly runs out to get the newspaper to bring to my dad who reads over the entire paper with care.

They say newspapers are dying but you wouldn’t know it by the way my parents value that Sunday morning paper. Between vast amounts of information and an endless supply of coupons, my family takes apart the local Post Standard much like Native Americans were said to use every piece of meat and bone from their prey.

All of this made me wonder how significant family lifestyle is on the media industry. On weekdays my mother irons her cloths over the Today show while my father watches Sports Center. At college, I wake up early every morning to catch Matt Laur’s latest special while my younger brother eats a breakfast of pizza and orange juice while catching the highlights from the Yankee game back home.

So I wonder; how much of an influence do our parents have over our choice of media outlets? Had I not grownup with my parents embracing these forms of media, would I? Would I even find the same information I value now important in my life?

Grant it, my mother still associates blogging with Facebook and my dad still needs help finding the “A” key on the keyboard. Still, I can’t help but wonder if my day-to-day choices on where I get my information are influenced by the values my parents place on particular media sources. After all, even at college I still make it out every Sunday to the local gas station in order to get that Sunday-morning newspaper to have a little piece of home.

One response to “Sunday Mornings

  1. Content: 4 Good ideas, here Brittany. Great that you are reassessing your media habits and wondering about their origins. I’d like to hear more specifically what you read, when and why. What do you read online? TV? Newspaper? Does each outlet fulfill same or different need?
    Links: 2 Some of these links are quite weak. Just because you write about coffee, you shouldn’t link to a debate about the pros and cons of coffee drinking. That has nothing to do with your topic and holds no value for the reader. Reading why men love sports doesn’t add to your topic — that your parents’ habits affected you. Link to studies about media habits between parents and kids or bloggers discussing the topic. The Post Standard was fun to see, though.
    Grammar: 2 A few minor errors: cloths, grownup. Also lots of clutter that pulls down your writing. Print this out and bring it to me for full details. But here is one example:

    Whenever I go home, I always look forward to spending Sunday mornings with my family. We sit in my cozy living room and sip coffee while chatting about virtually anything. (THIS SENTENCE TELLS ME NOTHING) My brother eagerly (DO YOU NEED THIS ADVERB?)runs out to get the newspaper to bring to my dad who reads over the entire (NO NEED FOR THIS ADJ) paper with care.

    HERE IS WHERE YOUR LEAD STARTS!!! They say newspapers are dying (NEED COMMA HERE) but you wouldn’t know it by the way my parents (SIT IN THE LIVING ROOM, SIP COFFEE AND CHEW OVER/SUCK UP/ THE SUNDAY PAPER) value that Sunday morning paper.
    OR you might say,
    They say newspapers are dying.
    Not in my parents’ living room.

Leave a Reply

