Decorating Sense

apartment

By MEGAN

I have recently taken on a decorating project for a new apartment.  At first, I was very excited by the prospect of buying new things and picking out colors.  But it has been a few weeks now and I am overwhelmed looking at all the different possibilities.  My laptop history would prove to you that I have visited all the conventional home decor spots like Ikea, Bed Bath and Beyond, and more.

It’s easy to get lost while searching for bedding, curtains, and kitchen supplies.  Paint on the walls?  Forget it; there are more colors available in Home Depot than I could ever imagine existed.  I desperately started to scour the internet for some advice on how to deal with my dilemma.

In my frantic search I stumbled upon blogs, lots of them.  There were blogs about the dreaded task of finding the perfect apartment and tips for searching.  Some people had even posted their current apartments for rent.  Luckily, I am past this headache and onto the more amusing yet somehow equally stressful task of filling the place with stuff.  I am in desperate need of some Apartment Therapy.

The magnitude of blogs that offer tips for decorating is astonishing.  I remember when decorating shows on networks like TLC and Discovery were the preferred medium for information on decorating.  Trusted professionals like Ty Pennington (Extreme Makeover: Home Editon) showed people quick tips and tricks while completely redoing rooms in two days.

It appears that citizen journalism is expanding in new categories as these good samaritans offer their advice and opinions in areas that may not be their expertise.  For what it’s worth I want to play along, so here is my contribution:

  1. Be creative
  2. Have fun
  3. Express yourself
One response to “Decorating Sense

  1. Megan,
    Content: 3 This was a fun post. Helpful to me, too, as I am also working on my house. So thanks! I like the link you made to journalism, but wish you had expanded on it.

    People are using social networking and other sites to find what they are looking for. Advice is rampant. Is it any good? Did you like the advice you got? Where did it lead? I’m not looking for you to expound ad nauseum, but the art of blogging is creating little nuggets of wisdom/experience for readers.

    If you worked (and we will do this together) your prose, you could cut your blog’s words by half. Then think how much space you would have for the juicy info you found out by trolling blogs/Web sites on decorating.

    Links: 1 Two of your links didn’t work. The one that did was great, but that is not enough. Check all links after posting!

    Grammar: 3 No obvious errors, so you get full points.

    Still, let’s look at this paragraph:

    I have recently (PERFECT EXAMPLE OF UNNECESSARY ADVERB) taken on a decorating project for a new apartment. At first, I was very excited by the prospect of buying new things and picking out colors. But it has been a few weeks now and I am overwhelmed looking at all the different possibilities.

    MAKE THIS ONE SENTENCE:

    I have spent the past four weeks perusing decorating magazines, eyeballing carpet-sofa combis and staring at lamp shades in the useless struggle to decorate my new apartment.

    My laptop history would prove to you that I have visited all the conventional home decor spots like Ikea, Bed Bath and Beyond, and more.

    OR
    I know the Ikea, Bed, Bath and Beyond and Pottery Barn catalogues by heart.

    See how shorter has more punch.
    You want to sound conversational, but edit your words carefully. Make your prose sharper and you will keep your reader longer.

    I’m happy to review the rest of your post with you if you want. Better, try doing it yourself.

Leave a Reply

