Journalists: the new “jacks of all trades?”

jack-of-all-trades-self-portrait“If your only asset is the ability to write well, you won’t be able to get a job.”

That’s true.   No one could’ve put it more bluntly than Amy Dunkin, Director of Academic Operations at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, when she came to speak at The Spectrum office last Wednesday.

The day has come that several newspapers are no longer produced in print and the latest news is now available at the click of a digital screen.  It comes as no surprise that journalists are no longer writers alone.  They are forced to become jacks of all trades.

It’s an exciting, yet scary prospect to think that, just as I’m preparing to enter the journalistic world, the role of a journalist is morphing. The ideal package for the “new” journalist is a reporter, photographer, web designer,  blogger, and broadcaster all in one (and even that probably doesn’t cover it all).

What if my package isn’t ideal? Will I be forced to lump myself into the dreaded category of unemployed Americans?

Admittedly, my photography is sub-par.  Count on any picture I take to come out either blurred, too light, or too dark.

Broadcasting is not my cup of tea, either.  The mere idea of speaking in front of a camera sends chills up and down my spine.

If I could count something in my favor, though, I’m willing to learn.  My experience blogging this summer taught me how to write for an online audience that can sometimes be very hostile. I also learned some of the little quirks of web formatting.

To those who claim journalism is dead, I beg to differ.  Journalism has changed, not ended.  It’s up to us, the journalists, to change with it — but quick.  The public is counting on us.

One response to “Journalists: the new “jacks of all trades?”

  1. Amanda,
    Your post reads rather choppy this time. Part of blogging is finding a neat way of tying ideas together. Didn’t work this time. If you want, we can review each sentence line by line to see where you erred.

    Content: 3 Get even more specific about what you learned and how you hope to improve. Tell me how you hope to become a better photog — show me links to those sites. Tell me what you don’t like about broadcast or why you wouldn’t be good at it. LInk to broadcast sites that show people with skills you lack.

    Links: 2 Couldn’t access your links. Not sure why. Please go back and check them again. And make sure they open in a new window. You need to check your links after you put them up. Next time I will give you 0 points if links don’t open properly

    Grammar: 2 Some weird structures here. You need to rewrite this paragraph completely:

    The day has come that several newspapers are no longer produced in print and the latest news is now available at the click of a digital screen. It comes as no surprise that journalists are no longer writers alone. They are forced to become jacks of all trades.

    Three “to be” verbs, a double neg construction AND a cliche…

    There are more cliches after that .. cup of tea, in my favor. Be careful. Be fresh. If you are journalism’s future you have to be tougher on yourself.

Leave a Reply

