Hate is such a strong word

throw tvI almost feel like a hypocrite. It was a couple of years ago when I used to watch my soap opera All My Children religiously. As I waited impatiently for the soap opera to begin, I used to watch the twelve o’clock news on ABC. It was the only time I ever watched the news. At first I didn’t mind watching the news because it was a way of being more informed about the world around me and the world I lived in. Then something changed.

I don’t know what happened or when exactly it was, but I started to dislike watching the news. Everything being reported was extremely depressing. Murders, drug addicts, politics, starving children in third world countries. The world lived on hearing about negative stories and if they didn’t, they just didn’t have a choice because that’s what was on.

I feel like a hypocrite because here I am, someone whose ambition is to be a journalist, and yet I don’t like watching the news. Just last week, I was reading an article from the New York Times, and became so furious about how U.S. schools are turning to other countries to find teachers for our schools. I became so furious that I stopped reading the paper all together that day.

Yet, to this day, something about the news fascinates me. Thus, is why I like to write. I want people to know what is going on in the world. I want to tell them that they’re lives are being affected no matter what. You see, I learned that not watching the news doesn’t change that news still happens. People still die, and politicians still debate about issues. Nonetheless, I still have the ambition to change the world, by informing them of the happenings around us, one word at a time.

One response to “Hate is such a strong word

  1. Content: 4 Good ideas here and personal story to add depth. You might have supplied more examples of how the news is negative — examples where journalists focused on the neg rather the positive in a story. That would give your piece more meat.

    The news is sometimes negative. But not always. TV news does tend to search for drama — which often means crime and disaster. Why? Why are we drawn to this? Why do people see films about crime and disaster? Human nature? All worthy of discussion. Bring this up in class sometime.
    Links: 3 Good. Would like to see more. Examples, for instance of neg stories etc.
    Grammar: 1 Here we need to work. Watch AP style. Lots of errors, including they’re (their) Third World, Thus, is why?? Reread and proofread!

Leave a Reply

